Sword Enchantment

Sword Enchantment Guide and Tips

Today, you will learn about Sword Enchantment in Minecraft. You can use the table of contents above to navigate quickly.

Be sure to share this article with your friends or family if you find this article useful. Sharing buttons are located below the article. Thank you very much.

So, Here Are The Sword Enchantments

Bane of Arthropods

Sword Bane of Arthropods Enchantment

Sword Bane of Arthropods Enchantment.

Increase the damage of your Sword (or Ax) when you attack the Arthropod mobs. Arthropod mobs are mobs that have jointed legs such as Bees, Cave Spiders, Spiders, Endermite, and Silverfish.
Bane of Arthropods has levels from 1 – 5 and incompatible with Sharpness and Smite

Curse of Vanishing

Sword Curse of Vanishing Enchantment

Sword Curse of Vanishing Enchantment.

This Enchantment is not designed for Sword only. Instead, every enchantable item has this Enchantment.

Unlike any other Enchantment, you can’t get this Enchantment from the Enchanting Table. Instead, you only can find it inside a Chest. This Enchantment has a negative effect or “Curse” on your items.


What it does is that your items will disappear instead of dropping on the ground if you die.

Curse of Vanishing is compatible with other Enchantments and only has 1 level.

Fire Aspect

Sword Fire Aspect Enchantment

Sword Fire Aspect Enchantment.

Your target will be burned if you attacked them (unless you attack the fire resistance mobs). You can get “instant” cooked meals from Chickens, Pigs, Sheep, or Cows if they get killed by burning using this.

Fire Aspect has levels from 1 – 2 and compatible with any other Enchantments.


Sword Knockback Enchantment

Sword Knockback Enchantment.

Your attack will knock back the target. Knockback has levels from 1 – 2 and compatible with other Enchantments.


Sword Looting Enchantment

Sword Looting Enchantment.

This Enchantment will increase the maximum dropped items from mobs and also increase the chance of rare items dropping.

Looting has levels from 1 – 3 and compatible with any other Enchantments.


Sword Mending Enchantment

Sword Mending Enchantment.

Every collected XP will be stored in your Sword to increase its durability. You need to hold your Sword while collecting the XP to make it work. 


Just like the Curse of Vanishing, you can’t get directly from the Enchanting Table. But you got other options: you can get it from Chest, fishing, or trade from the Librarian.

Mending only has 1 level and incompatible with Infinite (Bow’s Enchantment).


Sword Sharpness Enchantment

Sword Sharpness Enchantment.

Sharpness increases the damage of your Sword (this will affect any mobs). It also can be equipped for Ax. This Enchantment has levels from 1 – 5 and incompatible with Smite and Bane of Arthropods.


Sword Smite Enchantment

Sword Smite Enchantment.

Smite increases the damage of your Sword. But only for undead mobs, this includes Zombies, Skeletons, Strays, Wither Boss, Wither Skeletons, Drowned, Husks, Zombified Piglins, Zombie Villagers, Phantoms, Skeleton Horses, Zombie Horses, and Zoglins.


Because it is limited to undead mobs only, Smite has 2x more damage compared to Sharpness.
Smite has levels from 1 – 5 and incompatible with Sharpness and Bane of Arthropods.

Sweeping Edge (Java Edition Only)

Sword Sweeping Edge Enchantment

Sword Sweeping Edge Enchantment.

This Enchantment increase damage to the sweeping attack. It has levels from 1 – 3. This Enchantment is compatible with any other Enchantments.


Sword Unbreaking Enchantment

Sword Unbreaking Enchantment.

Unbreaking increases your Sword’s durability. Any other enchantable items can have Unbreaking. It has levels from 1 – 3 and compatible with other Enchantments.

Which Sword Enchantments Should You Pick?

All Sword Enchantments

All Sword Enchantments.

Try to have all these:

Smite + Looting + Fire Aspect + Unbreaking + Knockback + Mending + Sweeping Edge (Java Edition only). With the maximum level of each enchantment and using the Netherite Sword.

If you had to choose between Sharpness and Smite, choose Smite. Even though Smite is limited to undead mobs only, it performs better than Sharpness because it has more damage. Besides, most of the hostile mobs are undead.


Looting is a must-have, especially when you try to get Wither Skeleton Skull from Wither Skeleton. Other than that, you can get multiple items from mobs as well as rare items.

Fire Aspect is essential. You can hurt mobs without attacking them repeatedly since they get damage from burning. It will save your Sword’s durability. Also, you can get cooked items from mobs too, such as Chicken, if it dies from burning.

Knockback keeps the enemy away from you. So you will get extra time and space. It will make combat effortless and safer.

Sweeping Edge (Java Edition only) will make your sweep attack stronger, which leads to multiple damages and kills to adjacent mobs.

Unbreaking and Mending are also important. They will keep your Sword in good shape. You don’t want your powerful Sword broken or even destroyed in such a period.


Obtaining those Enchantments can be tough and required a lot of times, so here are my tips:

  1. Before you enchant your Sword, make sure the Enchanting Table is fully optimized (properly surrounded by Bookshelves).
  2. Try to enchant books instead. Books give you more Enchantments to choose from.
  3. Try XP farming in Dungeon or Nether Fortress. 
  4. Try Mine Nether Quartz. It has many XP compared to ore blocks.

Keep in mind, that all this just my suggestion to pick Enchantments that I think great for Sword. You can still select Sword Enchantments the way you want. It’s up to you.

So, that’s all the Sword Enchantments in Minecraft. For more guides like this, see Item Enchantments Guide. Thank you for reading the article.

Care to Share?


Everything You Need to Know About Donkey in Minecraft


Complex Village Near Badland, Ocean Ruins, 2 Desert Temple, and More


  1. Sim1

    This is so helpful

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Copyright © 2020-2021 All rights reserved. This website is not affiliated with Mojang Studios or Minecraft.
Scroll to Top Button